Coffee Table to Ottoman

The second project of No-Spend July is an upcycle of an old coffee table that I found on the side of the road.  I almost didn’t get it; in fact, I drove by it the first time on my way to get groceries.

I thought about it all the way to the store, rationalizing that I didn’t need it because I already had plans for coffee table projects for our living and family rooms.  It also would mean that I would subject myself to long-suffering looks from both husband and father as I crammed another piece of furniture into our already very-messy garage.

However, as you might expect, I gave in and stopped on my way back, glad to see that no   one else had snapped it up in the meantime!  This thing was HEAVY…solid wood and bigger than it looked when I first saw it.  But with some creative manoeuvring (and unloading/reloading the groceries as it started to rain), I made it fit into my SUV and that baby was mine…for free!

IMG_4376

It started as a typical eighties coffee table.  I gave it a quick sand and sprayed it…you guessed it, white!  I ripped apart our previous family room ottoman to harvest the foam (it was showing its age and wear and tear from being abused by Boys 1 and 2) and upholstered it with some blue and grey fabric.  I bought the fabric ages ago for the banquette that will be built in our kitchen but doesn’t work with the colour that I chose for the chairs.

IMG_4469

I love that it’s higher than our pallet ottoman (where was it when I was pregnant and puffy?) and sturdier when the boys climb on it.  It also has a strict “no food” rule that we’ve managed to enforce successfully so far!

IMG_4471

I’ve styled the new ottoman with a little black tray, some flowers and books but I doubt it will last long; Boy 2 has already tried pulling the flowers out of the mason jar and man-handled the books.

 

Link Parties:
Thrifty Decor Chick: July Before and After

One thought on “Coffee Table to Ottoman

  1. Pingback: No-Spend July Recap | Breezy Hill Farm

Leave a Reply

