No-Spend July Recap

No-Spend July has come to a close and I think it was a resounding success.  I got a good number of little projects done and even a few things that I haven’t blogged about.

I tried very hard to stick to my no-spend rule, taking pains to not look at any home improvement store flyers.  I went to Value Village and deliberately stayed far, far away from the furniture and lighting sections.

I do have to confess that I did buy one thing right at the end of the month.  I bought some chalk paint to redo our kitchen table…BUT, I only bought it because after discovering that my local Walmart sells chalk paint, I have waited weeks for them to have the white paint in stock.  They finally did so I had to snap it up when it was available.

I’ve shared a number of projects, both decor and furniture.  I revamped a bookcase for our dining room, created an ottoman out of a coffee table that I picked up off the side of the road and finally finished my crate side table for our downstairs bathroom.

As I mentioned, I’ve done some things I haven’t shared here, including working on the art centre in my boys playroom and applying frosted spray paint to our downstairs bathroom window.  It looks straight into the dining room window so if you forget to lower the blind, awkward!  That problem is solved now!

I finished up a few projects for Boy#2’s bedroom, including putting my own touch on an IKEA nightstand and finishing his bedside lamp that I started before we moved in last August!

IMG_4532 
So overall, I’m proud of No-Spend July, even if I technically broke the rules at the end.  It’s definitely going to be something I try again, maybe in December when it’s tempting to overspend to dress up the house for holiday company.

Leave a Reply

